October 2018

Every week, I compile a list of events for developers, technologists, tech entrepreneurs, and nerds in and around the Tampa Bay area. We’ve got a lot of events going on this week, and here they are!

Monday, October 29

Tuesday, October 30

Tampa iOS Meetup — Adventures in iOS machine learning, part 2: Let’s build our own Core ML models!

In the last Tampa iOS Meetup, we built a simple app that could analyze a photo and say if it was a picture of healthy or unhealthy food. It used a CoreML model that someone trained by giving it hundreds of photos of food and classifying each as healthy (mostly photos of fruit) and unhealthy (photos of pastries, cookies, and other sugary foods).

Someone asked “How do make our own models?” at the end of that meetup. In this meetup, we’ll answer that question by going through the steps to build our own model using Python and Turi Create, and then incorporating that model into a Core ML app.

If you’ve always wanted to get into machine learning, but found the material on it intimidating, you’ll want to join us at this friendly meetup, where you’ll get than hang of machine learning, iOS-style!

Other meetups

Wednesday, October 31

Thursday, November 1

Friday, November 2

Saturday, November 3

Sunday, November 4

{ 0 comments }

Every week, I compile a list of events for developers, technologists, tech entrepreneurs, and nerds in and around the Tampa Bay area. We’ve got a lot of events going on this week, and here they are!

Monday, October 22

Tuesday, October 23

Wednesday, October 24

Thursday, October 25

Worth checking out on Thursday: The Mainframe @ Microsoft office, 5:30 PM to 8:00 PM.

The Mainframe continues Tampa’s first interactive event series designed to immerse black tech entrepreneurs, innovators, professionals, technologists and enthusiast in the Bay Area’s local start up ecosystem.

This quarterly after-work event connects you with Tampa’s most notable innovators and business leaders over drinks and appetizers. While getting a sneak peek at new products and an opportunity to share your area of expertise.

Who should attend? Tech innovators, start-up founders, tech employees, app developers, gamers, software engineers, graphic designers, IT professionals, web designers, cryptocurrency/blockchain technologists, cloud and cybersecurity specialists, tech enthusiasts, community supporters, etc.

Friday, October 26

Saturday, October 27

Sunday, October 28

 

{ 0 comments }

Every week, I compile a list of events for developers, technologists, tech entrepreneurs, and nerds in and around the Tampa Bay area. We’ve got a lot of events going on this week, and here they are!

Monday, October 15

Tuesday, October 16

Wednesday, October 17

Thursday, October 18

Friday, October 19

Saturday, October 20

Sunday, October 21

{ 0 comments }

.ezis lluf ta ti ees ot otohp eht kcilC

{ 0 comments }

Every week, I compile a list of events for developers, technologists, tech entrepreneurs, and nerds in and around the Tampa Bay area. We’ve got a lot of events going on this week, and here they are!

Monday, October 8

Tuesday, October 9

Wednesday, October 10

Thursday, October 11

Friday, October 12

Saturday, October 13

Sunday, October 14

{ 0 comments }

My ARKit tutorial at RwDevCon 2018

by Joey deVilla on October 4, 2018

Earlier this year, I gave both a 4-hour workshop and a two-hour tutorial on ARKit, the iOS augmented reality framework, at RwDevCon 2018, the latest edition of a mostly-tutorials conference put on by the premier mobile development site RayWenderlich.com. It got some of the conference’s highest reviews, and the video of the two-hour tutorial has been made available on YouTube:

Here’s the video…

…and here are the starter and finished projects that go along with the tutorial.

If you’d like to see the four-hour workshop, which includes two extra projects — one using ARKit’s image recognition, and another than harnesses Core ML to recognize real-world objects and rooms — you can see it and all the other conference tutorials and workshops by getting the RWDevCon 2018 Vault Video Bundle, available for $199.99 at the RayWenderlich.com store.

And for even more RayWenderlich.com ARKit goodness featuring Yours Truly, check out ARKit by Tutorials, the book that goes even deeper into ARKit with games, augmented reality portals, face detection, and more. I was a technical editor on this book, for the opening chapters, in which you build an augmented reality “Poker Dice” game.

{ 0 comments }

Programming, summarized in two anime stills

by Joey deVilla on October 1, 2018

Two anime frames: 1. Helmeted pilot, yelling 'I am a genius!' 2. Same pilot, yelling 'Oh no!'

{ 0 comments }